Diving at the Great Barrier Reef

Great Barrier Reef needs no introduction. It’s the world’s largest coral reef system, it is so big, in fact, that it can be seen from the outer space. It is also one of the most popular tourist attractions of Australia and has constantly been rated as one of the best dive sites in the world. When I lived there for few years after completing university, I backpacked using the “Hop on Hop off” bus along the Oz’s east coast and diving at the reef was the highlight of my trip.

Scuba diving is an easy sport to learn. It takes about 2 days of theory and pool sessions before the instructor takes you in the open water for some introductory dives. I learnt to dive from the PADI certified “Down Under Dive” in Cairns. My instructor at the time was a young bloke from England who handled a group of us twelve 20-something participants very well. Before I dived at GBR, I had already done a few dives in South Australia and knew what to expect. And yet, the moment I went under water and got the first glimpse of tropical coral reef I was totally blown away. I had never seen anything so beautiful in my life ever before. It felt like a scene from a National Geographic documentary. For four days, I dived, first with a group of people, and then with just my South Korean dive buddy. Incidentally, on the last day the boat was carrying a film maker who had tonnes of fancy under water equipment with her. She took many beautiful shots of me diving with lovely marine life but I could only afford to buy three in the end. If there is one thing I would recommend my readers to do on a trip to Australia is to dive or snorkel on the GBR.

In a couple of months, I am going back to Australia and the Great Barrier Reef. This time I am going there with my husband and I can’t wait to dive with him. Not only that but we are going to live on a boat for three days and do eleven dives in total including two night dives! Wish us luck!

18 responses to “Diving at the Great Barrier Reef

  1. Thanks for the info on Lake Geneva. Though you live in Suisse, you must be familiar with Italian. Buongiorno. Good luck to both of you. Please return safely.

Leave a Reply

